Again : Attahiru Jega Wins ICPS Award

Professor Attahiru Jega, the former chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has been named the electoral commissioner of the year by the International Centre for Parliamentary Studies (ICPS) of the United Kingdom.

    Professor Jega was the chairman of INEC during the 2015 general elections and was hailed by local and foreign media for his composure and delivery of service. Two month ago, he was named the winner of this year’s edition of the Charles T. Mannat democracy award.

        READ ALSO

Daily Trust reports that Jega was named the winner of the ICPS award during the weekend at the 11th international affairs symposium and award ceremony in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. Jega’s leadership of INEC during the election also earned the commission the 2015 Electoral Conflict Management Award.
Jega won the award among a three man shortlist after INEC was adjudged to have conducted the world’s most celebrated democratic election this year.
A few days before he arrived at Mexico for the award, Jega spoke at the London School of Economics where he talked about the temptation of wanting to spend a second term as INEC boss.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s