Four Ways to STRETCH YOURSELF to Achieve Your Goal

So to be successful in any endeavor we need to learn how toget out of our own way, and by practicing these four ways, you will become more effective in managing yourself to achieve your goals.

 

Learn followership

Success leaves clues. Everyone that has been successful in life has first learned from someone, understanding that they didn’t know everything, but surround themselves around people with the same ambitions and goals and learned from them. Connecting with like-minded people makes everything possible because they have walked where you are going, allows you to learn from their failures and gives you a better sense of your direction. Growing up with four sisters, it was easy for me to learn how to ask for help and more importantly, to learn humilityand to understand that I need help to steer me in the right direction. Remember success cannot be achieve unless you take someone or something with you.

 

Develop self-discipline

Each one of us is the captain of our ship as it sails through the waves of destiny in our lives, so we are responsible for our own actions and decisions. To consistently make good decisions and the right actions, and to refrain from the wrong actions requires self-discipline. To do or say things we regret, or to miss opportunities that have presented themselves to us without taking action requires massive self-discipline to keep moving forward despite the fear we perceive. One thing I always say to myself when I feel fear creeping into my mind space when there is something that I have to do is, “If it has to be, it’s up to me”. Meaning no one is going to help me move forward but me, and I have to do this, it’s up to me. From there I take one massive step and move forward, and what I’ve learned is once you take that step, everything from that step is easy, and with time everything you create builds your self-discipline to push forward despite of fear. Now I say this to tell you that fear never leaves you, however, the fear you feel will prepare instead of paralyzing you to move forward. The key here is develop that self-discipline to do what you should to no matter how you feel about it.

 

Practice patience 

For myself I know I tend to be impatient. When I get started I am always looking ahead and wanting to move further ahead, and that can be good. Being one step ahead keep you anticipating allows you to effective manage yourself by preparing for the next step. However, that can also be bad. Being too far ahead of yourself allows you to make mistakes and not be as efficient and effective and sometimes leads to failure. Practicing patience allows you to fully engage in the moment, and what I love to tell my clients to approach every project with “no perceptions, no expectations” Ensure that you do everything in focus and in the moment and don’t worry about the next step until it is time to take the next step.

Very few worthwhile things in life come quickly. There is no such thing as instant greatness or instant maturity. Society has programmed us that we should be getting things done in an instant, and it’s expressed in commercials claiming you can cook an entire meal in five minutes, instant oatmeal, and microwave popcorn. In today’s society no one wants to wait for anything, everything has to be faster, but becoming successful doesn’t happen overnight. Achieving your goals and dreams doesn’t happen like popping something into the microwave. Success is more of a crock pot proposition. It takes time, but when it comes it is definitely worth the wait. So what am I saying here? I’m saying that in order to be successful you must first learn to be patient with the process, and it’s not about the fastest, quickest, way to do it. It’s about being honest with yourself, being deliberate in gaining the knowledge and applying what you know, and enlisting others to keep you on course to fulfill your intentions. You can’t do that by reading an article like this, you have to apply it, make it a habit, and be consistent. It’s kind of like working out. Once you’ve achieve the weight loss or the muscle you want, it’s about maintenance in order to keep the weight off or keeping your muscle tone. And what you’ll find is that practicing patience will allow everything to happen on time

Be accountable

When you effective manage yourself, not only are you honest with yourself, you know your ups and downs and whether or not you can trust yourself to take the next step or process to achieve your goals. Over the years I’ve read about many people that failed because they thought something would never happen to them and it did, based on their false sense of security they built thinking that they were incapable of making a mistake or losing something. There are two things that you will need to decide right now in order for you to effectively manage yourself and that is

I will not trust myself

I will find an accountability partner to allow me to be accountable to someone other than myself

Lack of accountability in your life will lead to problems that will not only manifest themselves in your personal life, but will filter into every aspect of your life as well. There is an old Chinese proverb saying that states, “When you see a good man, think of emulating him, when you see a bad man, examine your heart”

Being accountable is a willingness to explain your actions and starts way before taking action. Not being accountable says
        By Ron Broussard
Drop your comments below

Leave a Reply

